### 2024 PLATFORM COMMITTEE REPORT

## Republican Party of Minnesota State Convention

#### **Committee Members:**

Chair - Steve Gottwalt

CD 1 - Malachi McNeilus

CD 2 - Karin Miller

CD 3 - Rod Kern

CD 4 - Tom Jensen

CD 5 - Darrel Trulson

CD 6 - Bobby Benson

CD 7 - Rob Crowe

CD 8 - Mike Cummins

At Large - Melissa Field

### **Summary**

Please see Article VI Section 5 of our <u>Party Constitution</u> for a full description of the responsibilities of the Platform Committee.

Following CD conventions, the Platform Committee reviewed and discussed every single resolution that passed through each CD. Resolutions that were submitted by at least five of the eight CDs were included as constitutionally required, and *every other* resolution was discussed, then either included or removed. If a resolution was removed, it was typically because it was duplicative of another resolution that was already present or fell under a broader category of another resolution.

In addition to reviewing the Resolutions from each CD, the Committee also made the decision to transform the 2022 Platform format by converting "Principles" to a one-page set of essential, powerful values that reflect what our Party truly stands for, and will help gain support for our candidates. Detailed resolutions were then grouped under those broader headings into an "Action Agenda". The result reduces the Platform from 11 pages to a more succinct and impactful 5 pages. We received resolutions that requested this consolidation from some CDs.

# Proposed 2024 Platform & Action Agenda Vote:

**Yes (9)** 

Steve Gottwalt Malachi McNeilus Karin Miller Tom Jensen Darrel Trulson Bobby Benson Rob Crowe Michael Cummins

No (1)

Rod Kern

Melissa Field